Kenrick — A Conversation with Kenrick Mark Coleman Features Payal Ghanwani

Kenrick Mark Coleman
7 min readNov 16, 2019

The Kenrick Mark Coleman Foundation

Kenrick — A Conversation with Kenrick Mark Coleman Features Payal Ghanwani

1. Tell us a little about yourself.

My name is Payal Bhojraj Ghanwani. I am the youngest of two children born to Mr. Bhojraj and Maya Ghanwani. While my parents are originally from India, I was born and raised in Belize City until my family moved to Corozal after I completed my first year of high school.

Academically, I am a proud graduate of Holy Redeemer Primary School, Corozal Community College, Muffles Junior College, the University of the West Indies, and the Norman Manley Law School.

Professionally, I am a partner at the law firm of Estevan Perera & Company LLP.

Personally, during my free time, I enjoy reading and “Netflixing” as I must admit my guilty pleasure is binge-watching TV shows; feel free to reach out with any recommendations. I am also an active member of the Rotary Club of Belize Sunrise as I believe everyone should find a way to be involved in their community.

2. You recently graduated with a bachelor’s degree from the University of the West Indies, majoring in Law and went on to the Norman Manley Law School to obtain your Legal Certificate. What do you believe is important in this your role?

The importance of attorneys in any country cannot be overemphasized. Lawyers are gladiators of justice (Yes, that was a “Scandal” by Shonda Rhymes reference). As an attorney, I help to maintain the peace and order among people in our country by either helping someone to find the best way to resolve a dispute or prevent one from occurring. I am also able to advocate for those persons whose fundamental rights and freedoms are violated. Without lawyers, there would be no one to protect the public from abuse of the law.

3. Tell us more about your academic life at this University? How did you receive the scholarship? Why did you choose this particular University? When did you commence studies? What subject areas are focused on? What’s your relationship like with fellow students?

I believe it was either in standard three or four when I made the definitive decision that I wanted to become an attorney. Thereafter, every academic decision that I personally made was aimed towards achieving this goal. In high school when faced with the choice to enroll in either Academics (Science), Business or General Studies programs, I chose the third. I could not appreciate how business or science would be useful to my legal career. Subsequently, when confronted with the question of which junior college to attend, I chose Muffles Junior College in the Orange Walk District. This was the only junior college at the time which allowed me to obtain an Associate’s Degree in General Studies with a major in Law. There is where I was advised by my law teacher that I should attend the University of West Indies and the Norman ManleyLaw School to obtain the prerequisite degrees to become an attorney in the Caribbean. With that advice and a quick google search of the educational background of some of the attorneys in Belize, I found myself applying to the University of the West Indies at the Cave Hill campus in Barbados, where I began studying in August of 2011.

For the first two years of the LL. B program, our courses were preselected by the university. However, in the third and final year when given the option to choose between different areas of focus, I selected company law, corporate finance, offshore law, international environmental law, employment law, discrimination in employment, administration of trust and estates, intellectual property, and corporate management. At the Norman Manley Law School, the curriculum was also preselected for the two years. However, there is where we were exposed to the practical aspects of the different areas of law.

As it relates to my relationship with fellow students, I can safely say without any reservations that UWI is where I met persons that I now consider my lifelong friends.

4. Describe your transformation process from little Belize to Jamaica and the Caribbean Islands?

It’s funny you’d describe Belize as “little” in your question when in reality, in terms of landmass, Belize is approximately fifty times larger than Barbados and twice the size of Jamaica. Before departing to Barbados, I recall a family friend telling me that “Barbados is so small that if you drive too fast, you may drive off the island”. However, despite its size, Barbados is very developed. Therefore, adapting to the environment was quite easy. The beaches in Barbados were very welcoming and made it easy for me to call it home for those three years, despite my cravings for Belizean cuisine the entire time. After being in Barbados for three years, it was easy to transition over to Jamaica as I was already accustomed to the idea of being away from home.

5. What are the challenges you faced as a student at university? Opportunities?

One of the main challenges of law school is the intensity of the course itself. The amount of reading and research that the program demands will definitely prepare you for the long hours that you will spend in the office when you start your career as an attorney. Another major challenge was being able to find available resources on how the theory is applied in practice in Belize. Since we were taught by mostly Jamaican tutors, their knowledge on the application of the law in Belize was limited. However, several tutors tried their best to reach out to law firms in Belize to respond to our questions and have since travelled to Belize to source the material required.

6. Why is Law important to Belize’s National Development?

Law is important to the national development of Belize as it keeps a balance in the society while at the same time checks on the powers of the government to ensure that it is not oppressive. Law plays an important role in fostering social change and reshapes social institutions which in turn have a direct influence on national development of a country.

7. Since your return to Belize, what are some of the major projects (and/or Law Firm) you were/are involved with? How did you infuse the knowledge and skills garnered? What impact have these projects made?

As mentioned above, I am currently an attorney attached to the law firm of Estevan Perera & Company LLP. Prior to joining this firm, I was at Glenn D. Godfrey & Co. LLP for a year. Since my return to Belize, I have been involved in several legal matters in which I am able to infuse the knowledge and skills garnered at law school. My main areas of practice include civil litigation, company law, offshore and commercial law, probate, estate and succession, conveyancing and real estate, and environmental law.

8. In one of my recent articles, I stated: ‘It is important to realize that majority of Belize’s younger populations continue to be very mediocre as it relates to becoming holistically educated and cultured, personally and professionally.’ What’s your perspective on this?

I don’t believe that some of the younger population outrightly choose to not become educated and cultured. For many, they don’t have a say in the matter. Very often, children don’t have the proper influences to guide these decisions, or more importantly, the means to attain a holistic education. We can’t just blame the younger generations for not making the effort to improve themselves. Children often just mimic what they’re exposed to at home, or on the streets. As a society, we should be doing more to encourage the younger generation to make the effort to become holistically educated and cultured; it starts with us.

9. Tell us more about the victory as Most Outstanding Student at NMLS? Have you won other major achievements in life this far? What’s the definition behind the victory?

The Most Outstanding Student Award is presented to the students that academically perform the best in years one, two, and over the two years cumulatively at Norman Manley Law School. I was fortunate enough to receive the Council of Legal Education Prize for Most Outstanding Year 1 student (2014–2015) in my first year. Then in my second year, I received the Council of Legal Education Prize for Most Outstanding Year 2 student (2015–2016) as well as the Council of Legal Education Prize and the Courtenay Coye LLP Prize for the most outstanding student over two years (2014–2016). I also received the following achievements during my two years at the NMLS:

· Legal Education Certificate of Merit for obtaining at least nine out of eleven A’s in the Norman Manley Law School’s final exams.

· The Michael March Memorial Prize for best performance in the Law of Remedies at the Norman Manley Law School (2015)

· The O.G. Harding Company Prize for best performance in Landlord and Tenant at the Norman Manley Law School (2015)

· Ziplaw Technologies Co. Prize for Most Outstanding Year 1 student at the Norman Manley Law School (2014–2015)

10. What three words do you have to say to young Belizeans?

Pursue your dreams.

--

--

Kenrick Mark Coleman

Chairman, The Kenrick Mark Coleman Foundation ~ British Chevening Scholar ~ MA Public Relations, University of Greenwich, London ~ Holistic Conversations ~